25 Sainik Schools in India

By | February 27, 2016
(Last Updated On: February 27, 2016)

Sainik Schools

As per the Memorandum of Association of the Sainik Schools Society, 1961 the objects of the society include establishment of Sainik Schools in various parts of India to provide special School education of a high standard with the aim of preparing boys academically and physically for entry into the National Defence Academy and other walks of life.

Sainik Schools are established on receipt of a specific request from the State Government. The State Government is also required to provide infrastructure in the form of land, educational and residential buildings, games fields and other equipments. Once a proposal to the effect is received from the State Government, in-principle approval is accorded after assessing the suitability of the proposal. Thereafter, a Memorandum of Agreement is signed between the Ministry of Defence and the State Government before Sainik Schools are established. Presently, there are 25 Sainik Schools in the country covering 21 State, which are as under:


   S. No. Name of School State
1 Sainik School Korukonda Andhra Pradesh
2 Sainik School Kalikiri Andhra Pradesh
3 Sainik School Goalpara Assam
4 Sainik School Nalanda Bihar
5 Sainik School Gopalganj Bihar
6 Sainik School Ambikapur Chhattisgarh
7 Sainik School Balachadi Gujarat
8 Sainik School Kunjpura Haryana
9 Sainik School Rewari Haryana
10 Sainik School Sujanpur Tira Himachal Pradesh
11 Sainik School Nagrota Jammu & Kashmir
12 Sainik School Tilaiya Jharkhand
13 Sainik School Bijapur Karnataka
14 Sainik School Kodagu Karnataka
15 Sainik School Kazhakootam Kerala
16 Sainik School Rewa Madhya Pradesh
17 Sainik School Satara Maharashtra
18 Sainik School Imphal Manipur
19 Sainik School Punglwa Nagaland
20 Sainik School Bhubaneswar Odisha
21 Sainik School Kapurthala Punjab
22 Sainik School Chittorgarh Rajasthan
23 Sainik School Amaravathi Nagar Tamil Nadu
24 Sainik School Ghorakhal Uttarakhand
25 Sainik School Purulia West Bengal


In-principle” approval has been accorded/memorandum of Agreement signed for setting up of 11 more Sainik Schools, which are as under:

S. No. State Districts Remarks
1. Arunachal Pradesh Niglok Village District East Siang “In-principle” approval accorded
2. Mizoram Chhingchhip Memorandum of Agreement signed
3. Odisha Sambalpur “In-principle” approval accorded
4. Rajasthan Alwar Memorandum of Agreement signed
5. Rajasthan Jhunjhunu Memorandum of Agreement signed
6. Uttar Pradesh Jhansi Memorandum of Agreement signed
7. Uttar Pradesh Mainpuri Memorandum of Agreement signed
8. Uttar Pradesh Amethi Memorandum of Agreement signed
9. Uttarakhand Rudraprayag Memorandum of Agreement signed
10. West Bengal Darjeeling “In-principle” approval accorded
11. Maharashtra Chandrapur “In-principle” approval accorded

Status of the other proposals received from the State/UTs for setting up of Sainik Schools is as under:


S. No. State Action taken by the Government
1. Sikkim Site survey carried out and the site found not suitable. State Govt. to indicate another site.
2. Punjab State Govt to indicate site for the School.
3. Jharkhand State Govt to indicate site for the School.


4. M.P. Site survey completed for Sainik School at Sagar.
5. Assam Site Survey completed for Sainik School Golaghat.
6. Telangana State Government to intimate time schedule for site survey for Sainik School at Warangal City.


This information was given by Defence Minister Shri Manohar Parrikar in a written reply to Shri Ganesh Singh and others in Lok Sabha today.

Source Ministry of Defence 26-February, 2016

Direct Taxes Ready Reckoner Service Tax Ready Reckoner Company Law Ready Reckoner tax deduction at source
New Books Released on Tax , GST and law

Leave a Reply