History of GST in India

By | August 3, 2016
(Last Updated On: October 15, 2016)

History of GST in India

What are the major chronological events that have led to the introduction of GST?

GST History India -1 GST History India -2 GST History India -3

History of GST  India : 13 years Long Journey

GST is being introduced in the country after a 13 year long journey since it was first discussed in the report of the Kelkar Task Force on indirect taxes. A brief chronology outlining the major milestones on the proposal for introduction of GST in India is as follows:

  1. In 2003, the Kelkar Task Force on indirect tax had suggested a comprehensive Goods and Services Tax (GST) based on VAT principle.
  2. A proposal to introduce a National level Goods and Services Tax (GST) by April 1, 2010 was first mooted in the Budget Speech for the financial year 2006-07. As per Budget Speech , Para 116 of Finance Minister :-

    116. I wish to record my deep appreciation of the spirit of cooperative federalism displayed by State Governments and especially their Finance Ministers. At my request, the Empowered Committee of State Finance Ministers has agreed to work with the Central Government to prepare a roadmap for introducing a national level Goods and Services Tax (GST) with effect from April 1, 2010.

  3. Since the proposal involved reform/ restructuring of not only indirect taxes levied by the Centre but also the States, the responsibility of preparing a Design and Road Map for the implementation of GST was assigned to the Empowered Committee of State Finance Ministers (EC).
  4. Based on inputs from Govt of India and States, the EC released its First Discussion Paper on Goods and Services Tax in India in November, 2009.[ Read First Discussion Paper on Goods and Services Tax in India dated 10.11.2009]
  5. In order to take the GST related work further, a Joint Working Group consisting of officers from Central as well as State Government was constituted in September, 2009.
  6. In order to amend the Constitution to enable introduction of GST, the Constitution (115th Amendment) Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha in March 2011. As per the prescribed procedure, the Bill was referred to the Standing Committee on Finance of the Parliament for examination and report.
  7. Meanwhile, in pursuance of the decision taken in a meeting between the Union Finance Minister and the Empowered Committee of State Finance Ministers on 8th November, 2012, a ‘Committee on GST Design’, consisting of the officials of the Government of India, State Governments and the Empowered Committee was constituted.
  8. This Committee did a detailed discussion on GST design including the Constitution (115th) Amendment Bill and submitted its report in January, 2013. Based on this Report, the EC recommended certain changes in the Constitution Amendment Bill in their meeting at Bhubaneswar in January 2013.
  9. The Empowered Committee in the Bhubaneswar meeting also decided to constitute three committees of officers to discuss and report on various aspects of GST as follows:-

(a)      Committee on Place of Supply Rules and Revenue Neutral Rates;

(b)      Committee on dual control, threshold and exemptions;

(c)      Committee on IGST and GST on imports.

  1. The Parliamentary Standing Committee submitted its Report in August, 2013 to the Lok Sabha. The recommendations of the Empowered Committee and the recommendations of the Parliamentary Standing Committee were examined in the Ministry in consultation with the Legislative Department. Most of the recommendations made by the Empowered Committee and the Parliamentary Standing Committee were accepted and the draft Amendment Bill was suitably revised.
  2. The final draft Constitutional Amendment Bill incorporating the above stated changes were sent to the Empowered Committee for consideration in September 2013.
  3. The EC once again made certain recommendations on the Bill after its meeting in Shillong in November 2013. Certain recommendations of the Empowered Committee were incorporated in the draft Constitution (115th Amendment) Bill. The revised draft was sent for consideration of the Empowered Committee in March, 2014.
  4. The 115th Constitutional (Amendment) Bill, 2011, for the introduction of GST introduced in the Lok Sabha in March 2011 lapsed with the dissolution of the 15th Lok Sabha.
  5. In June 2014, the draft Constitution Amendment Bill was sent to the Empowered Committee after approval of the new Government.
  6. Based on a broad consensus reached with the Empowered Committee on the contours of the Bill, the Cabinet on 17.12.2014 approved the proposal for introduction of a Bill in the Parliament for amending the Constitution of India to facilitate the introduction of Goods and Services Tax (GST) in the country.  The Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha on 19.12.2014, and was passed by the Lok Sabha on 06.05.2015. It was then referred to the Select Committee of Rajya Sabha, which submitted its report on 22.07.2015.

History of GST : List of States who ratified the GST Constitutional Amendment Bill

S.NO State Passed On Government
1 Assam 12th August, 2016 BJP, CM Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal
2 Bihar 16TH August, 2016 RJD-JDU, CM Nitish Kumar
3 Jharkhand 17th August, 2016 BJP, CM Raghubar Das
4 Himachal Pradesh 22nd August, 2016 Congress, CM Virbhadra Singh
5 Chhattisgarh 22nd August, 2016 BJP, CM RAMAN SINGH
6 Gujrat 23rd August, 2016 BJP, CM Vijay Rupani
7 Madhya Pradesh 24th August, 2016 BJP,  CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan
8 Delhi 24th August, 2016 AAP, CM Arvind Kejriwal
9 Nagaland 26th August, 2016 Naga People’s Front, CM T.R. Zeliang
10 Maharashtra 29th August, 2016 BJP-SHIVSENA, CM Devendra Fadnavis
11 Haryana 29th August, 2016 BJP, CM Manhoar Lal Khattar
12 Sikkim 30th August, 2016 SDF, Pawan Kumar Chamling
13 Telangana 30th August, 2016 TRS, CM Kalvakuntala Chandrasekhara Rao
14 Mizoram 30th August, 2016 Congress, CM Lal Thanawala
15 GOA 31th August, 2016 BJP, CM Lakshmikant Pareskar
16 Odhisha 1th September, 2016 BJD, CM Naveen Patnaik
17 Puducherry 2th September, 2016 Congress, V. Narayanaswamy
18 Rajasthan 2th September, 2016 BJP, CM Vasundhara Raje
19 Andhra Pradesh 8th September, 2016 TDP, CM N. Chandrababu Naidu
20 Arunachal Pradesh 8th September, 2016 Janta Party, CM Prem Khandu
21 Meghalya 9th September, 2016 Congress, CM Mukul Sangma
22 Punjab 12th September, 2016 BJP-AKAALI, CM Prakash Singh Badal
23 Tripura 26th September, 2016 CPI, CM Manik Sarkar

Related Post

Direct Taxes Ready Reckoner Service Tax Ready Reckoner Company Law Ready Reckoner tax deduction at source
New Books Released on Tax , GST and law

Leave a Reply